Dane County Executive Parisi, Madison Mayor Rhodes-Conway Announce Martin Luther King, Jr. Humanitarian Award Honorees

Dane County Executive Joe Parisi

January 6, 2023 --Today, Dane County Executive Joe Parisi and City of Madison Mayor Satya Rhodes-Conway announced Dr. Charles Taylor and the late Wayne Strong as this year’s recipients of the combined City-County Humanitarian Awards honoring Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. The award winners were selected by the City-County Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Commission and are community members who reflect the values of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

“Both Charles and Wayne have embodied the spirit of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. through their dedication to serve our community,” said County Executive Parisi. “Whether it’s Charles’ talent for writing and producing or Wayne’s legacy of longstanding civic involvement, both recipients have bettered the Dane County community. Congratulations to both honorees and their families for receiving this award.”

“Each year, these awards offer us the opportunity to reflect on the good work happening in our community. This year, the recipients reflect a theme of legacy,” said Mayor Rhodes-Conway. “Giving Wayne this award posthumously honors his legacy and reminds us to celebrate people while they are with us. Giving Charles this award celebrates not only his legacy, but the legacy of Madison’s Black community through his work. As we celebrate the legacy of Dr. King, I hope we can channel the passion of these two, and carry on their work.”

[The City and County presented the awards at the annual City-County Martin Luther King, Jr. Observance on Monday, January 16. The program ran from 6:00pm to 7:30pm. More information can be found at http://mlkingcoalition.org.]